Search This Site

Colette Sheehy Recognized with Thomas Jefferson Award for Service to the University

Recognizing top researchers and successful administrative leaders, the University of Virginia’s Thomas Jefferson Awards honored four recipients this year – two for scholarship and two for service – after the awards were cancelled last year due to the pandemic.

The honorees include: Dr. William A. Petri, a top scientist pursuing the secrets of the deadly new coronavirus and sharing the latest knowledge with anxious citizens; Colette Sheehy, a financial specialist who broke the glass ceiling for women after rising through the ranks of the UVA administration; Dennis R. Proffitt, whose contributions in research and teaching have helped to create a new approach to psychology that could continue to impact the field far into the future; and Carl Zeithaml, who as dean of the McIntire School of Commerce established programs to prepare students with rigorous skills and opportunities to work with business leaders to solve complex, real-world problems. Read more.

Friday, June 4, 2021